How Many Games Are in the Wild Card Series?

Photo of author

By Ralph Torres

Are you a fan of baseball? Do you look forward to the Wild Card Series every year?

If so, you might be wondering just how many games are in the Wild Card Series. Let’s take a closer look at this exciting postseason event.

What is the Wild Card Series?

The Wild Card Series is a round of postseason play in Major League Baseball (MLB). It was introduced in 2020 as part of an expanded playoff format due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Wild Card Series consists of eight best-of-three series, four in each league (American and National).

How Many Games Are in Each Series?

As mentioned above, each Wild Card Series is a best-of-three. This means that the first team to win two games advances to the next round of the playoffs. If one team wins the first two games, there is no need for a third game.

How Does Home-Field Advantage Work?

Home-field advantage for the Wild Card Series was determined by regular-season record. The team with the better record hosted all three games in their respective series.

When Does the Wild Card Series Take Place?

The Wild Card Series takes place immediately following the conclusion of the regular season. In 2020, it began on September 29th and ended on October 2nd.


In summary, there are three games in each best-of-three series during the MLB Wild Card Series. Home-field advantage is determined by regular-season record, and the series takes place immediately following the end of regular-season play. So get ready to cheer on your favorite team and enjoy some exciting postseason baseball!